News and Announcements


The Canadian women’s national senior squad will wrap up their two-week training camp in Victoria with their second and last scrimmage of the month. This won’t be the last of international level competition you will be able to see in Victoria as the team hopes to have a Chile development team and Scotland here before the Fall.

For now, you can come watch the intra-squad game with the below details:

Date: Saturday, June 2
Time: 12:30-2:30 pm (including warm-up)

Come cheer on the Vancouver Island athletes!

Island Athletes on the Senior squad include:
Defender Anna Mollenhauer (Victoria – St. Michael’s)
Defender Sara Goodman (Duncan – Cowichan Secondary)
Defender Alexis DeArmond (Victoria – Mount Douglas Secondary)
Midfielder Kathleen Leahy (Victoria – Oak Bay Secondary)
Forward Maddie Secco (Victoria – Oak Bay Secondary)

Former Vikes on the squad:
Defender Danielle Hennig (Kelowna)
Goalkeeper Kaitlyn Williams (White Rock)


The Canadian women’s national field hockey team are wrapping up week one of two of their training camp based at the University of Victoria this May. On Sunday, May 27 you can come watch the women’s national squad play an intra-squad match! This is the first time in several years that international level women’s training has come to the island for the community to watch.

Come cheer on Canada, meet the players and see the Canadian team in your backyard.

Location: University of Victoria water-based field
Date: Sunday, May 27
Time: 5:00-7:00 pm (including warm-up)

The team will also be out in the community this weekend and next week before they head to Mexico to compete in in an FIH World Series event. The team has been training at UVic since May 21 using both the CARSA and McKinnon facilities to fulfill their weights sessions, team meetings and on-field practices.

Photo Credit: Yan Huckendubler


At the 2018 Field Hockey BC Train to Compete Tournament April 13-15, island athletes had medal performances. The Barracudas team finished first place overall after an exciting shoot-out win over the FHBC Academy Alligators. The Barracudas were primarily made up of Cowichan-based athletes, while the Stingrays team was made up of Victoria-based athletes.

The Barracudas won 1-0 in the bronze medal game to put both island teams on the podium. Following the regional tournament three BC teams were announced including one mainland team, one island team and one mixed team.

The island team named 16 players to the roster and will be coached by Ali Baggott and Andy Rushton. In addition, five island players were named to the mixed team and two were named as reserves.

Congratulations to:

BC Stags (Island Team)
Birkley Anderson (Flickers)
Cara Butler (Lynx 1)
Judy Cristante (Patriots)
Janet Dawson (Lynx 1)
Jenna Goodman (Flickers)
Tayler Guy (Lynx 1)
Anya Hermant (Flickers)
Libby Hogg (Lynx 1)
Emily Jackson (Lynx 1)
Chloe Langkammer (Flickers)
Sophie Miranda (Shawnigan Lake School)
Melanie Robertson (Flickers)
Stefanie Sajko (Lynx 1)
Brecken Sales (Lynx 1)
Ava Smith (Flickers)
Arica Windsor (Flickers)
Ali Baggott (Head Coach)
Andy Rushton (Assistant Coach)

BC Lions (Mixed Team)
Sophia Berk (Lynx 1)
Avery Nystedt (Lynx 1)
Suzie Stone (Lynx 2)
Nora Struchtrup (Lynx 2)
Cordel Tromp (Lynx 2)

Reserve Players
Claire Church (Lynx 1)
Nicola Leech
Reilly Sinclair (Lynx 2)

Full rosters available Here:


Field Hockey BC is now offering an online version of our Community Umpire Course. The course is open to FHBC Members for $25 (previously $60) and consists of a series of lessons and practice questions designed to prepare you for the final quiz.

Requirements for candidates remain the same in that will need a grade of 75% or higher in order to pass the course. The first registration window is now open until the end of the Junior League season, with more to follow in the coming months. The success in this online offering is a first step in Field Hockey BC’s commitment to facilitate future umpire, coaching and development courses.

The current course is available to those interested in taking the first steps towards fulfilling the earliest of rated umpire requirements, umpires that desire a refresher, and umpires with expired certifications. Candidates should be at least 13 years old. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Kurt Du Bois at 604-737-3146 or

To register for the online course click HERE:


On April 9 the Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association (VILFHA) awarded the league trophies, major awards and all-star team acknowledgements. Lynx 1 midfielder and Mount Douglas Secondary captain Stefanie Sajko was named the league’s top player and ultimately the Hibbert Trophy winner. Flickers stand out Chloe Langkammer was the top junior player earning the Trelawney Shield, while Cowichan’s Teresa Gregus was presented the Christine Trophy for her contributions to the league and sport. Lynx 2 forward and developing umpire Nora Struchtrup was presented the Foley Shield for her umpire performances this season.

The Division MVPs were awarded to former UVic Vike and Lambrick Park Secondary midfielder Kyla Kirby, who led Lynx 1 to a Division 1 league and playoff title this season. In Division 2, long-time midfielder Shannon Petrovic was selected as the division MVP as her consistency, near-flawless attendance and strong performance helped the Sailors earn both league and playoff champion honours. In Division 3, Theresa Kennedy was named MVP for her standout goalkeeping performances this season.

Lynx 1 were the playoff and league winners for Division 1, while the Sailors also completed the sweep in Division 2. The Pirates won the league title for Division 3 but after losing out in a semifinal shootout, gave room for a different playoff champion. The Kestrels defeated their fellow club team the Stellers in the final for Division 3 to hoist the playoff trophy.


Div 1 League Winner: Lynx 1
Div 2 League Winner: Sailors
Div 3 League Winner: Pirates

Div 1 Playoff Winner: Lynx 1
Div 2 Playoff Winner: Sailors
Div 3 Playoff Winner: Kestrels

Div 1 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Flickers
Div 2 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Lynx 2
Div 3 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Devils

Hibbert Trophy (Most Outstanding Player): Stefanie Sajko, Lynx 1
Trelawney Shield (Top Junior Player): Chloe Langkammer, Flickers
Christine Trophy (Service, Ability and Sportsmanship): Teresa Gregus, Flickers
Foley Shield (Most improved umpire): Nora Struchtrup, Lynx 2

Div 1 MVP: Kyla Kirby, Lynx 1
Div 2 MVP: Shannon Petrovic, Sailors
Div 3 MVP: Theresa Kennedy, Demons

Div 1 All-Stars
Stefanie Sajko, Lynx 1
Libby Hogg Lynx 1
Andy Rushton, Lynx 1
Kira Starr, Mariners
Ali Baggott, Mariners
Chelsea Rabey, Mariners
Judy Cristante, Patriots
Brianne Zinkiew, Patriots (GK)
Heather Wheatley, Patriots
Chloe Langkammer, Flickers
Caitlin Evans, Flickers

Div 2 All-Stars
Avery Nystedt, Lynx 2
Emily Jackson, Lynx 2
Nora Struchtrup, Lynx 2
Shannon Petrovic, Sailors
Jeannette Leach, Sailors
Kaileigh Simons, Sailors
Reese Nagy, Cardinals
Makayla Styba, Cardinals
Emily Cherneff, Cardinals
Jalin Couper, Blue Jays
Teresa Wong, Blue Jays

Div 3 All-Stars
Theresa Kennedy, Demons
Inges Tang Ciccateri, Devils
Hayley Picard, Kestrels
Tracey Varian, Pirates
Catherine Jones, Pirates
Harkiran Khangura, Lynx 3
Brenda Wetherston, Renegades
Piper Douglas, Stellers
Mia Kelly-Ralph, Lynx 3
Debbie Melvin, Demons
Jill Dayton, Stellers